Click here for Councillor Briefing for Prospective Election Candidates – Monday 17th July 2017

When is the election?

Hilltops Council was established on May 12, 2016 and includes the former council areas of Boorowa, Harden and Young.  The first election of the new Hilltops Council will be held on Saturday, 9 September 2017.

How many councillors will be elected?

11 councillors will be elected to Hilltops Council.  This includes the positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor, both of which will be elected by the members of the newly formed Hilltops Council.

How long are councillors elected for?

Local government elections are typically held every four years, however due to the amalgamation process, the term of the new Hilltops Council will be for three years.

Once elected, the Mayor holds office for two years while the Deputy Mayor is elected annually.

Do I need to vote?

Voting is compulsory for all people enrolled in the Hilltops Council Local Government Area (LGA).  Fines apply for not voting, so it is important that you know if you need to vote.  Click here to check enrolment and eligibility.

If you are not a resident of the Hilltops Council LGA but are eligible to vote you can download the individual claim or nominee form for inclusion on the roll of non-resident owners here.

How do I become a candidate?

Nominations for candidates open on Monday, 31 July 2017 and close at 12 noon on Wednesday, 9 August 2017.  Click here for further details.

Where can I find more information?

The NSW Electoral Commission has created a website devoted to the local government September elections here.  It will be updated regularly as further details regarding the Hilltops Council election become available, including:

  • Hilltops Council polling places (to be announced in August);
  • Hilltops Council candidates;
  • Ballot paper information;
  • Early voting details.